Electromagnetics, Antenna Design, and Applications

(ACME 2016)

Special Session on Advances in Computational Methods in

Innsbruck, Austria


As part of

The International Conference on High Performance Computing & Simulation (HPCS 2016) or

July 18 – July 22, 2016

Submission Deadline: April 15, 2016 - Extended

Submissions could be for full papers, short papers, poster papers, or posters


The special session on Advances in Computational Methods in Electromagnetics, Antenna Design, and Applications provides an international forum for reporting progress and recent advances in computational techniques and simulation tools used in electromagnetics and antenna design and Applications.

Several evolutionary algorithms (EAs) have been applied to a variety of microwave component, antenna design, radar design, and wireless communications problems. These approaches, among others, include Genetic Algorithms (GAs), Evolution Strategies (ES), Particle Swarm Optimization (PSO), Differential evolution (DE), and Ant Colony Optimization (ACO). The use of the above algorithms has an increasing impact on antenna design and propagation problems. EAs combined in several occasions with numerical methods in electromagnetics have obtained significant and successful results. Additionally, hybrid combinations of EAs are also emerging.

We invite researchers to contribute original papers describing the applications and the emerging trends of the above to antenna and propagation as well as other electromagnetic problems.

ACME Topics of interest include, but are not restricted to the following areas:

  • Numerical Methods (MoM, FDTD, FEM, TLM, etc.)

  • Fast and Efficient Computational Methods in Electromagnetics

  • Hybrid Methods

  • Optimization Techniques

  • Modeling of Complex Mediums

  • Modeling of Electrically-large Structures

  • Inverse Scattering and Imaging Techniques

  • EM Simulation Tools

  • High-performance Computing in EM

  • Parallel and GPU Computing for EM

  • Printed and Conformal Antennas

  • Aperture Antennas

  • Multi-band and Wide-band Antennas

  • Antenna Arrays and Smart Antennas

  • Dielectric Resonator Antennas

  • Reconfigurable Antennas

  • Miniaturization of Antennas

  • Embedded Antennas

  • MEMS/Nano Technology for Antennas

  • EMC/EMI Applications

  • Radars and Remote Sensing

  • Millimeter-wave and Terahertz Antennas

  • RF and Microwave Circuits

  • Genetic Algorithms (GAs)

  • Evolution Strategies (ES)

  • Evolutionary Programming (EP)

  • Particle Swarm Optimization (PSO)

  • Differential evolution (DE)

  • Ant Colony Optimization (ACO)

  • Multiobjective optimization (MO)

  • Other innovative algorithms


You are invited to submit original and unpublished research papers on the above and other topics related to Computational Electromagnetics and Antenna Technology. Submitted papers must not have been published or simultaneously submitted elsewhere. For Regular papers, please submit a PDF copy of your full manuscript, not to exceed 8 double-column formatted pages per template, and include up to 6 keywords and an abstract of no more than 400 words. Additional pages will be charged additional fee. Submission should include a cover page with authors' names, affiliation addresses, fax numbers, phone numbers, and all authors email addresses. Please, indicate clearly the corresponding author(s) although all authors are equally responsible for the manuscript. Short papers (up to 4 pages), poster papers and posters (please refer to for posters submission details) will also be considered. Please specify the type of submission you have. Please include page numbers on all preliminary submissions to make it easier for reviewers to provide helpful comments.

Submit a PDF copy of your full manuscript to the special session paper submission EasyChair site at Acknowledgement will be sent within 48 hours of submission.

Only PDF files will be accepted, uploaded to the submission link above. Each paper will receive a minimum of three reviews. Papers will be selected based on their originality, relevance, significance, technical clarity and presentation, and references. Submission implies the willingness of at least one of the authors to register and present the paper, if accepted. At least one of the authors of each accepted paper will have to register and attend the HPCS 2016 conference to present the paper at the special session.

Accepted papers will be published in the Conference proceedings. Instructions for final manuscript format and requirements will be posted on the HPCS 2016 Conference web site. It is our intent to have the proceedings formally published in hard and soft copies and be available at the time of the conference. The proceedings is projected to be included in the IEEE Digital Library and indexed in all major indexing services accordingly.

If you have any questions about paper submission or the special session, please contact the special session organizers.


Paper Submissions: ----------------------------------------- April 15, 2016 - Extended

Acceptance Notification: ------------------------------------ April 28, 2016

Camera Ready Papers and Registration Due by: --------- May 21, 2016 - Extended

Conference Dates: ------------------------------------------ July 18 – 22, 2016


Sotirios K. Goudos

Department of Physics, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

Thessaloniki, Greece

Phone: +30 231 0 99 8392

Fax: +30


Wout Joseph

iMinds, Department of Information Technology, Ghent University

Ghent, Belgium

Phone: +32 09

Fax: +32 09


Giacomo Oliveri

ELEDIA Research Center

University of Trento - DISI , Trento, Italy

Phone: +39 0461 285227

Fax: +39 0461 283166


International Program Committee*:

All submitted papers will be rigorously reviewed by the special session International Program Committee members following similar criteria used in HPCS 2016 and will be published as part of the HPCS 2016 Proceedings.

  • G. Andrea Casula, University of Cagliari, Italy

  • Margot Deruyck, Ghent University, Belgium

  • Nihad Dib, Jordan University of Science and Technology, Jordan

  • Christos Kalialakis, Centre Tecnologic de Telecomunicacions de Catalunya (CTTC), Spain

  • Nikolaos Kantartzis, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece

  • David Plets, Ghent University, Belgium

  • Lorenzo Poli, University of Trento, Italy

  • Anyong Qing, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, China

  • Marco Salucci, Université Paris Sud, France

  • Katherine Siakavara, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece

  • Pandian Vasant, Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS, Malaysia

  • Dimitrios Vergados, University of Piraeus, Greece

  • Traianos Yioultsis, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece

  • Theodoros Zygiridis, University of West Macedonia, Greece

For information or questions about Conference's paper submission, tutorials, posters, workshops, special sessions, exhibits, demos, panels and forums organization, doctoral colloquium, and any other information about the conference location, registration, paper formatting, etc., please consult the Conference’s web site at URL: or or contact one of the Conference's organizers.